EvansThe Northampton County Department of Social Services provides social services and financial assistance to county residents who meet eligibility criteria. The purpose of these services is to enable individuals to function at their maximum level of independence, provide short-term financial stability while pursuing a goal of self-sufficiency, and to empower families and individuals with skills needed to cope with the pressures associated with being caretakers for children, disabled adults, or the frail elderly. Services provided include, Adoption, Services to the blind, Child and Adult Protective Services, Guardianship, Foster Care, Long-term Care Services, Child Day Care, Food Assistance, Work First Family Assistance programs, Child Support Services, Medical Assistance, and Transportation for medical appointments. The Department provides eligibility determination and program integrity for state and federal income assistance programs, general assistance and seasonal emergency programs. 

Director:
Shelia Manley-Evans
Shelia.evans@nhcnc.net 

Administrative Officer/Personnel:
Sondra Vann
Sondra.vann@nhcnc.net 

Budget Officer:
Pam Riddick
Pam.Riddick@nhcnc.net 

Adm. Assistant/Adm. Support Supervisor:
Leta Coleman
Leta.Coleman@nhcnc.net 

Family & Children´s Services Supervisor :
Teresa Gilliam 
Teresa.Gilliam@nhcnc.net

Adult Services Supervisor: 
Rhonda Taylor 
Rhonda.Taylor@nhcnc.net

Adult Medicaid Supervisor:
Susan Umphlett
Susan.Umphlett@nhcnc.net

Children's Medicaid & CRISIS Supervisor:
Karen Lassiter
Karen.Lassiter@nhcnc.net 

Food & Nutrition / LIEAP Supervisor:
Christine Moss
Christine.Moss@nhcnc.net 

Work First Cash & Employment Services Supervisor
Day Care Supervisor/Emergency Assistance Supervisor:

Phyllis Cannon
Phyllis.Cannon@nhcnc.net 

Child Support Supervisor:
Anne White
Anne.White@nhcnc.net 

9588 NC Hwy 305
Jackson, NC 27845


Phone

Main Line: (252)534-5811
Food Stamps:
(252)534-0521
Childrens Services (CPS): (252)534-1246
Child Support: (252)534-0111
Work First: (252)534-7046
CPS Hotline: (252)534-1773
Fax:
(252)534-0061

Food Stamps & Medicaid Participants Can now use ePass.
epassWelcome to North Carolina ePASSePASS is a quick and easy way for individuals and families to learn about and apply for available benefits and services. Online applications are available for Food and Nutrition Services(formerly Food Stamps) as well as Medical Assistance(Medicaid and NC Health Choice or CHIP). You can learn if you are potentially eligible for Medical Assistance by completing an electronic pre-assessment screening. Go to the ePass Website to learn more or to start the process now.
 
Click here to watch a video to learn more about ePass.